Posted in blog, Books, Fantasy, geek

January 2020 Book Review

Seveneves by Neal Stephenson 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • I enjoyed the world that was created in this story and the characters were decent. I gave it a 3 out of 5 because it was just average to me.

Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Horror Fiction
  • I had high hopes for this book and it lived up to those hopes. I loved the symbolism throughout the story and all the horror elements.  

Infinity Son by Adam Silvera 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • This was a brilliant book full of characters that you could connect with and relate to. By the end of this book, I wanted to be in this world and I can’t wait for the sequel.

No Judgement by Meg Cabot 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Romance 
  • I usually don’t like Romance books because I personally feel that they are all very similar but I decided to give this one a chance since I had enjoyed previous books by Cabot. I do not regret picking up this book, it was truly enjoyable and simple

The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Historical Fiction 
  • I knew I would love this book even before I started reading it. I love history and learning more about the Tudors. This was a great book to see more of the relationships that we have heard so much about

The Gathering Storm by Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • This is book 12 of the Wheel of Time series and the first book where Brandon Sanderson took up the challenge to finish the series for Robert Jordan. The middle books in the series were a slow and difficult read for me but this one held my attention from the start. Can’t wait to read the last two books in the series 

The Diary of a Hounslow Girl by Ambreen Razia 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Fiction 
  • This was an audible book and I liked how it was performed and the way the author made it easy to relate with the main character 

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Juv Young Reader Fantasy
  • I think most people already know about the Percy Jackson books so all I will say is if you haven’t read this series, go read it. It is worth it especially if you like mythology and Greek mythology specifically

Simon vs the Homo Sapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • I had watched the movie based on this book before reading it so I knew the general story. I definitely enjoyed the book more than the movie because several changes were made in the movie that I don’t think should have been changed. 

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐
  • Genre: Fantasy, Fiction
  • This will probably be my most controversial review and rating. So many people love this book but I just did not like it. I hated the writing style, way too flowery. I felt like there was no true plot and no conflict. The characters were bland with no direction or true reason to do anything  

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo 

  • Rating: ⭐⭐⭐
  • Genre: Self-Help, Nonfiction
  • This book has changed many people’s lives, so I was curious about it. I did like several of her suggestions and have started implementing them into my life. The main point that I completely disagree with was in regards to what books to keep and how many you should keep. I love having a ton of books at home even if I never reread most of them. I won’t get rid of them, that is for sure!

Author:

Welcome to my blog! Here you can find a little of everything. My poetry, conversations about mental illness, movies, books, shows, dungeons and dragons, etc. Another thing that you find here will be some short stories. I have several ideas, just need to write it out for you! I hope you will stay and start a conversation with me! Enjoy!

Leave a comment